Palomas, For the Rest of Us

Paloma Picasso was never called an asshole. Not like you.

My new cocktail craze of late is the Paloma. It’s not unlike a margarita, only without the whole “stepped on a pop top,” parrots-and-palm frond nonsense. Don’t get me wrong, I love the beach as much as the next girl (well, actually, that’s not true. I like the beach slightly less than the next girl, probably because I have a porcelain complexion which turns with alarming speed into a lobster-colored sunburn. Also I don’t really care for sand). I just like my booze a little classier.

Anyway, speaking of class, I also love this drink because when I think “Paloma,” I think “Picasso,” and when I think “Picasso,” I think about the wonderful Modern Lovers song “Pablo Picasso”.

That might be a little glimpse into the inner workings of my brain that you could’ve done without, huh? OK. On to the recipe:

Palomas

1.5 oz tequila, preferably tequila blanco

juice of half a lime

grapefruit-flavored soda

Wet rim of glass with a lime wedge and dip into a mixture of coarse salt and chili powder. Add ice to glass. Add rest of ingredients. Garnish with lime wedge. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Palomas, For the Rest of Us

  1. Ok, this sounds amazing, but somehow I’m completely unable to come up with a grapefruit flavored soda. But the chili powder especially sounds amazing!

  2. I found mine in the grocery store, near the soda but in the region of tonic, seltzer, etc. It’s called “Half and Half” (not to be confused with the dairy product of the same name, natch). It’s one of those weird little mixers that you never think much about until you need them. But they’re there. I think mine was Polar brand.

  3. When I think grapefruit soda, I think Squirt or Fresca. I will be trying out this recipe very soon. Sounds RIGHT up my alley…

    • Oh, Fresca… When I was little I used to visit my aunt, who had a very fabulous, sophisticated, Rhoda-like bachelorette pad, and she would make me ice-cube-tray popsicles out of Fresca. Good times.

  4. Delicious. And I thought of Squirt or Fresca too, didn’t know there was something else. Will have to look the next time I buy my tonic.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

