Something About the Salmon

Full Disclosure: we love salmon around here. At least, 3/4 of us do. Or 3/4 of us think we do…I remember a day, not too terribly long ago, when Mister Six-Going-On-Seven (aka the New York Times Restaurant Critic) would gobble down salmon like it was going out of style–even without ranch dressing to dip it in. These days, it’s a different story, and one that I will spare you.

After all, if you wanted to read tales of surreal hopelessness, you’d already be curled up with your dog-eared copy of the Kafka Omnibus.

Long-Suffering Husband, Baby Girl and I all still cop to loving salmon. There’s something about it, however, that puts me in an Asian-y mood. One of my all-time favorites is Firecracker Salmon, but we’ve had that a lot, and I get burned out easily. Also, I had recently come across Francis Lam’s Scallion-Ginger Sauce, and although I have to take issue with his assertion that it makes literally anything tasty (sheetrock? that deflated soccer ball in my backyard? Hot Pockets?), I was intrigued. Also, I had something like four or five bunches of scallions in my fridge. Don’t ask.

It made our broiled salmon damn tasty. With the salmon and sauce, I served brown rice (happily, this time I was able to actually identify raw brown rice and, ergo, to cook the correct grain) and some green beans sauteed in sesame oil, seasoned with red pepper flakes and sesame seeds. See what I mean? Asian-y. Emphasis on the -y.

No recipe, folks. You can broil salmon, right? And read? Yes. Of course you can.

8 thoughts on “Something About the Salmon

  1. Mmmmm… Sounds good.

    Kelsey and I like to cook it up with some soyaki sauce from Trader Joes and add peppers and onions. Serve with white rice.

    Or cook it up, saute some almond slices, and throw those on top with green beans and white rice.

    Going to have to try it your way next time!

    (It’s also nice to read something you wrote for fun, not because you’re compelled to by someone else. It’s even better…)

  2. I don’t actually know what makes the soyaki sauce different from other sauces, so maybe you can find something similar elsewhere. I’m guessing soy sauce and teriyaki sauce? (You know, if I had to go out on a limb…)

  3. Mmm…salmon. (By the way, I have a nasty habit of buying brown rice, cooking it, and then freezing the rest of the bag like a good girl…and then freaking out a few weeks later when I can’t find the d*mn brown rice. That’s why I now have six bags of brown rice in the freezer. No joke.)

    • Coconut Rice Pudding

      1.5 c. cooked rice (brown or white — jasmine is nice too)
      1.5 c. coconut milk (or use part coconut milk, part cow’s or soy milk)
      1/3 c. sugar
      1/4 tsp. salt

      Cook over medium heat, stirring, until thick and creamy, 10-15 minutes. Then stir in:

      1/2 cup milk of your choice
      1 beaten egg (make sure to temper it, or else let rice mixture cool first)
      1 Tbs. butter
      1 tsp. vanilla
      dash cinnamon
      2/3 c. raisins (optional)

      Cook 5 minutes more, stirring. Garnish with toasted coconut.

      I imagine that this would also be lovely with some chopped mango, pineapple or banana (or a mixture) in place of the raisins.

      If you try it, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

